Message Archive
SVX Shop Search
IRC users:

Go Back   The Subaru SVX World Network > SVX Main Forums > MOD Mania
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 09-08-2003, 02:34 PM
sputnik

exhaust idea

searching back i read a lot about the flowmaster 80 in an otherwise stock exhaust system. what i couldnt find, however, is if anyone has tried the flowmaster as well as removing the resonator and replacing with a straight pipe (my resonator rattles wicked at 2k rpm). i want it to sound good, but not really loud, so i was hoping somebody has this setup and can offer me some more info, or maybe a sound clip, or maybe a reason why it would be a bad idea. also if someone could include the part number or dimensions of the 80's series best suited for the svx.
any feedback is greatly appreciated.

sputnik

Last edited by sputnik; 09-08-2003 at 02:44 PM.
Old 09-08-2003, 05:37 PM
Thread Killah
Alcyone Gold Contributor

Registered SVX
I have a flowmaster 8o with resonator removed and the kittens are dead too. I tried it with open pipes to the flowmaster with no resonator and it was extremely loud.
I added a glasspack where the resonator was and it quieted it down to a reasonable level.
Sound clip in my locker.

Here's a site with dimensions. I got the 2.5" single in dual out
http://www.racerpartswholesale.com/flomstr1f.htm
92 Ebony LS-L ECUtune Stage2av1, Z32 MAF, 370cc injectors, TomsSVX intake, BontragerWorks 22mm RSB #003, HID Hi and Lo beams, OT endlink and bushing mods, PWR Aluminum radiator, Harvey's QC shift kit, 2.5" flowmaster 80 exhaust, 17" Michelin Pilot Sport A/S, Poly sway bar bushings, Slotted Bradi rotors, AFBeefcake powdercoated calipers, 97 grill, and a huge set of air horns. 300,000 miles and counting
92 Ebony LS-L. ecutune stage1v4, motorsport 1pc pulley. Garage Queen - sold to Dad in upstate NY 155,000 miles
19 Subaru Ascent Premium - -Hers !.
89 DL 4x4 little red wagon - a.k.a. The immortal suby. 275k R.I.P.
Old 09-08-2003, 06:07 PM
FearWhat